Here’s the post-Endgame timeline as we know it

Time is just a construct and the multiverse continues to prove it.

words by: Alee Kwong
Nov 3, 2021

With more Marvel content comes more Marvel chaos. After a decade of finely-tuned and orchestrated films, Marvel hit us with Avengers: Endgame in 2019. It was the end of an era as we saw a major shift in the MCU — the shift being the loss of four MCU character titans, Black Widow, Vision, Captain America and Iron Man. The phase following Endgame is not only going to dive deeper into their supporting characters (Thor, Hawkeye, Guardians of the Galaxy, Spider-Man, Doctor Strange, Captain Marvel, Scarlet Witch), but also introduce an array of new characters that many fans have been waiting to debut in the MCU.





This isn’t the first we’ve heard of the multiverse

As we found out in Loki, there are a variety of timelines that our favorite Marvel characters exists in. The show introduces us to the TVA, the Time Variance Authority, an agency that transcends time and space with the sole purpose of keeping things running smoothly on “the sacred timeline”. As we saw in Endgame, Loki from the 2012 Battle of New York, stole the Tesseract once again and used it to teleport to who knows where. Well, in episode one we see where the god of mischief teleported to. The Tesseract sent him to the deserts of Mongolia, where he was promptly met by TVA hunters, apprehended, processed, and tried in court for his “crimes against the sacred timeline.” This plot line was our second introduction to the multiverse, the first being Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse.


So where does that leave the timeline after Endgame?

Good question. A lot has happened to each respective character in the MCU since Endgame — some of which we have seen already and some we have yet to see. The MCU’s Phase 4 is without question going to be much darker compared to that of the previous phases and that shouldn’t surprise us. The trauma from The Blip, the five years mentally/emotionally lost after the reversal of The Blip, and the tragic loss of fellow Avengers was enough to send many of our favorite heroes down a winding path of deep introspection — something that can either change you for the better or worse.


As far as we know, this is the chronological order of events.

  • Avengers: Endgame (2018-2023)
  • WandaVision (2023 — only a few weeks after the aftermath of Endgame)
  • Loki (Sort of 2023, sort of 2012)
  • Shang-Chi and The Legend of the Ten Rings (2023)
  • The Falcon and the Winter Soldier (2023/2024)
  • Eternals (2023/2024)
  • Hawkeye (2024/2025)
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (2024)


I’m sure you’re wondering where What If…? falls in this timeline. The simple answer is that it’s hard to say. In every episode, we drop in at different points that are slightly adjacent to the ones from the sacred timeline. Because the events in each episode are rooted in the multiverse, it’s not easy to place them at one point in time.


As for the upcoming MCU films such as Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness, Thor: Love and Thunder, and Black Panther: Wakanda Forever — there’s really no telling yet. We might get a better estimate after seeing post-credit scenes prior to each film. As we all know by now, the immediate involvement of the multiverse leaves a lot up in the air.


In related superhero news, the new Hawkeye trailer gives us a sneak peek at what’s in store for the Barton family and here’s what you can expect from Marvel in 2022.


Photos via Marvel