Career Advice, Tips & Techniques, Useful Links

Media folks, here’s how to find any editor’s contact

Cold mailing has never been so easy.

words by: Natasha Marsh
Aug 3, 2020

We are not the first to tell you, applying for jobs is a job in itself. Lengthy applications can include job history up to three years back, multiple references, edit tests and portfolios. It can be exhausting and highly time consuming. Not to mention, how the heck can you stand out in a sea of hundreds, if not thousands, using the same general application channel. 

 

That is why we recommend cold emailing, or the act of emailing someone you don’t know, when searching for a new job or side hustle. The steps are pretty simple: you search the site to find the proper editor’s name and then either search around or ask around for the email format at said publisher. Simple. But time consuming. 

 

Oftentimes this takes a lot longer than anticipated. Wouldn’t it be amazing to have a running list of how emails are formatted? Well now there is. ED2010 put together a highly accurate list of top publishers in the media industry. Read on to see some of our favorites. 

 

Newsy 

BBC: first.last@bbc.com

BuzzFeed: firstname.lastname@buzzfeed.com

CBS: firstname.lastname@cbs.com

Fast Company: firstinitiallastname@fastcompany.com

The Guardian: firstname.lastname@theguardian.com

The New York Times: firstnamelastname@nytimes.com OR firstinitiallastname@nytimes.com

The New Yorker: firstnamelastname@newyorker.com

Reader’s Digest: firstname.lastname@trustedmediabrands.com OR first.last@tmbi.com

The Skimm: firstname@theskimm.com

Vox Media: firstname.lastname@voxmedia.com

Wall Street Journal: firstname.lastname@wsj.com

 

Fashion/Lifestyle

Bustle: firstname@bustle.com

Condé Nast: firstname_lastname@condenast.com

Hearst: firstinitiallastname@hearst.com OR firstname.lastname@hearst.com

Interview Magazine: firstinitiallastname@crystalball.media

Meredith: firstname.lastname@meredith.com (and former Time Inc: firstname_lastname@timeinc.com)

Nylon: firstname@nylon.com

Pop Sugar: firstinitiallastname@popsugar (folks who have been with the company longer may be firstname@popsugar.com)

Travel & Leisure: firstname.lastname@travelandleisure.com

Variety: firstname.lastname@variety.com

Well and Good: firstname@wellandgood.com